Mattieliz’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

  • January 2009
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Interviews

Posted by mattieliz on January 20, 2009

If you’ve ever interviewed someone whom you were unfamiliar with, you know how awkward and somewhat challenging it can be. Last week, my fellow students and I were assigned to interview one person from our class and one person who was not a close friend or relative.

I do have to say that interviewing the person from our class wasn’t half as bad as interviewing a stranger, mostly because we both knew what eachother wanted for the interview–something that would make a good story. I decided to interview a customer from where I work (Dutch Bros Coffee). He comes in almost every day and always has something interesting to say, so I thought he would be a great candidate. When I asked him if he would want to do an interview with me, he seemed to get nervous and got all jittery but he did it anyway. I knew it was going to be a struggle, and that it was.

Some things I’ve learned for future interviewing is plan what you are going to ask the interviewee ahead of time. We both seemed to get off topic a lot which was a waste of time. The interviewee also talked really fast so I wasn’t able to get certain things written down. I should have asked him to repeat himself but didn’t. Now that I have done a couple of interviews, I hope this helps me prepare for the next one.

Leave a Reply

 
